GFCFSF Diet

Standard

I don’t want to call it a “diet” per se, though it is a diet, just not in the sense that at some point I’ll stop eating this way. GFCFSF stands for gluten free, casein free, sugar free. Casein is a milk protein. Sometimes, this type of eating is called Paleo, Primal, SCD, GAPs, and other names. Basically, I am eating whole, real food. Tada! I’m avoiding GMO products, potatoes, tomatoes, rice, soy, etc as well, so really trying to buckle down.

I made tuna patties tonight, from this recipe. They are super delicious. It seems like a lot of ingredients, but you just toss everything in a bowl, stir, and plop them into a pan to cook. Et voila! Easy peasy entree. The only change I made was to halve the recipe, and I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Grandma suggested putting some lemon juice on top, as we do for fried catfish in these parts. I tried it, not sure but may veto it as an option. It did add a little zip but the breading (egg + almond flour) absorbed it and it was weird.

Image

Also this week I’ve made Pumpkin Sausage Soup, Carrot Ginger soup, and Split Pea with Ham and Bacon. The pumpkin sausage was by far the best. I left out all the creaminess, but the brothy, rich soup was very satisfying. The carrot ginger soup failed for some reason, it was not tasty, and a weird texture. So I used a bit of the stock that I had left to make the split pea. The stock this time was ah-maze-ing. I used a recipe from Suzanne that I can’t find at the moment, but it was fabulous.

I encourage you, if you suffer from chronic pain, fatigue, illness, mental illness, or weight issues, to give this eating plan a try!

Love your life,

Whitney

Leave a Reply

